Types of Sikhs

Sikhs may broadly be classified into following types:

Amritdhari Sikhs

Sikhs who have taken Amrit, their name will mostly ends or contains Kaur for women and Singh for men. Kaur means a princess and Singh is lion or tiger.

Non Amritdhari Sikhs

Sikhs who have not taken Amrit, such Sikhs are born in the Sikh families Keshdhari (keep hair) or Non-Keshdhari (don’t keep hair). Non-Amridhari Sikh may or may not keep the hair uncut, but mostly they support it.
Amrit is the holy drink to induct someone into the Sikh faith, such a Sikh abides by the discipline of Amrit, and one of it is keeping hair.

Sehajdhari Sikhs

They may or may not keep their hair, they believe in Sikh Philosophy, but are free from the bindings of Amrit. They may recite prescribed Gurbani (Nit Nem) full or in part, go to Gurdwara, practice Naam-Jap, do Ardas in their functions and perform their rites in the Sikh way, mostly in the presence of Guru Granth Sahib and Ardas. They take part in activities of Gurdwara and the Sikh world, including its politics. Mostly they are from Hindu families.


Sikh, whose name ends with Singh, may usually be addressed as Mr. Singh. Name of an Amritdhari male Sikh, mostly ends or contains Singh.


All types of Sikhs taken together, is Khalsa. A congregation of Sikhs is usually addressed as Khalsa. A single Sikh may also be called a Khalsa. Mostly, a Khalsa or Singh means an Amritdhari Sikh.


Sardar title is colloquially used to refer to adult male followers of the religion of Sikhism as a disproportionate number of Sikhs have honorably served in many high-ranking positions within the Indian Army. Sardar was used for important political, tribal, military and religious officers rankings by the Sikhs during the period of Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

Patit Sikh

A defiled Sikh, as such, no Sikh can become Patit. The Patit Sikh may be the one who after taking Amrit, knowingly does not care to observe its bindings. It should not include an unintentional omission or commission. So called Patit or any other Sikh, can regain his-her normal social status on repentance at Akal-Takht, or before a body preferably of the five cardinal (Amritdhari) Sikhs, re-taking Amrit and serving the (token) punishment. In fact, no Sikh can ever be Patit because the fault can redressed.


  1. gursharan kaurNovember 02, 2013

    I felt glad to read it. I am a amritdhari girl. Please send me more just like that.

  2. A Sikh of the Guru is a Sikh! That is all there to it. There is no other distinction. Our Gurus did not divide Sikhs into categories like you and non-sikhs, and even Governments are trying to do. If a Sikh of the Guru falls in to this trap, then it is his or her own foolishness.